Personal Property Details
In general, personal property is “movable” taxable property, sometimes referred to as “luxury items” that are not affixed to your real estate (i.e. real property).
Personal property includes mobile homes in mobile home parks or on someone else’s property where the land (real property/real estate) is not owned by the mobile home owner.
Personal property also includes heavy tagged trucks, non-highway motor vehicles, antique cars and trucks, watercraft (boat, motor, trailer) mopeds, golf carts, ATV’s, all variety of pull behind trailers, aircraft, RV’s and business personal property (often referred to as machinery & equipment) and oil & Gas production.
Kansas personal property is classified by the Kansas Constitution, and interpreted by PVD (Property Valuation Department).
PVD dictates to all counties how Kansas personal property is to be valued for taxation. PVD prescribes specific valuation guides for all Kansas county personal property appraisers to use. In general the guides direct the appraiser toward a market value on the various items (vehicles, watercraft, aircraft, mopeds, ATV’s etc.) and that market value is multiplied by the prescribed percentage (partial assessment by Kansas Statutes) to arrive at an “assessed” taxable amount. This assessed amount is taken and multiplied by the mill levy for your taxing district (city or township) to arrive at your yearly tax bill.
Everyone with personal property is to list and report it to the County Appraiser’s office by March 15th of each year. The owner or his relative should sign and affirm that the listing of property is accurate. The signed list is then valued (as prescribed by PVD) and placed on the tax roll for that particular year. A bill will follow in late November for the first half payment due by December 20th of each year.
The Rendition list of property should be signed and returned to the County Appraiser’s Office. This list is referred to as an Assessment form, and our office staff is capable of assisting the property owner in filing this Assessment Rendition.
The County Appraiser’s office is required to assign a penalty (by State Statutes) for late filings, so we encourage all personal property owners to file by March 15th of each year. Any specific questions can be asked via phone 620-724-6431, or by visiting our office on first floor of the Crawford County Courthouse in Girard, Kansas.
One of the more recent, taxpayer friendly changes to personal property states that “Machinery and Equipment” purchased after July 1st 2006 is expressly Exempt from taxation, or personal property assessment. This was done to make Kansas a more friendly work State for business owners.
In addition to the above mentioned change, Kansas has exempted from taxation some items in the "other" taxable area of the assessment form with a purchase cost of $750.00 or less (generally non-farm use trailers).
New for 2014, watercraft vessels (boat, motor, trailer or a combination thereof) will NO LONGER be eligible for the $750.00 personal exemption. Many older boats will now value for a minimum tax bill of $12.00. In the previous years these were the watercraft vessels that were previously exempt by the $750.00 personal exemption.
New also for 2014 will be the graduated taxation of UDOT commercial trucks at the time of their purchase of county license tags. They will now pay their tax fee for the year when they purchase their tag, thereby eliminating them from Ad Valorem (by value ) local tax assessment.
If you have any questions please call the Crawford County Appraiser’s Office (620-724-6431) between 8:30 am – 4:30 pm Monday through Friday and we will be most willing to assist you.
State Guide to Personal Property
Important Phone Numbers:
Crawford County Courthouse (First floor, West side)
111 East Forest
Office Hours 8:30 - 4:30, Monday - Friday
Crawford County Appraiser's Office
P.O. Box 217
Girard, Kansas 66743
State General Certified
Real Property Appraiser.
1st Floor Courthouse