Q: When should I receive my tax bill?
A: You should receive your real estate and personal property tax statement for the current year by the middle part of November. If only the first half of the current year taxes are paid in December, you will have to remember to pay your 2nd half in May.
Q: What should I do if I don't receive a tax bill?
A: If you are to receive a statement but do not by the end of November, please contact the County Treasurer's Office at 620-724-8222.
Q: When are my real estate taxes due?
A: If you are responsible for paying taxes on a home or other real estate, the full amount could be paid or the half amount on or before December 20 of that tax year. If the first half is paid, the second half of that years tax is due on or before May 10 of the following year.
Q: What happens if I don't pay my real estate taxes on time?
A: If the first half of the current year real estate taxes are not paid by December 20, interest will start accruing December 21.
If the mortgage company was to have paid these items, you must inform them that the County Treasurer's office did not receive the payment. If there are any questions, the mortgage company needs to call the County Treasurer's Office at 620-724-8222.
You or the mortgage company can pay the first half of the current year taxes with interest up until May 10. After May 10, if the first half of the real estate taxes has not been paid, the full amount of the current year tax plus interest will have to be paid. If the current year tax has not been paid by the first of August, there will be an additional fee of $16.00 for publication. Crawford County is required by Kansas State law (KSA79-2303) to publish a list of unpaid real estate taxes. We do send out postcard reminders before publication of the current year delinquent taxes.
If taxes are not paid by the first Tuesday in September, taxes will be put on the delinquent tax roll, and it becomes a lien on the real estate.
Q: When would my real estate be up for tax sale?
A: Real estate taxes three years delinquent are subject to a tax foreclosure action and public sale.
Q: When are my personal property taxes due?
A: The first half of the personal property taxes is due on or before December 20. If you pay the first half of the personal property taxes in December, the second half is due on or before May 10 of the following year.
Q: What happens if I don't pay my personal property taxes on time?
A: If the first half of the personal property tax is not paid by December 20, the full tax amount plus interest becomes due, starting December 21. Delinquent notices for personal property are sent out on or before February 20. If they are not paid, warrants are issued. Warrants are issued 14 days after notices are mailed. Tax warrants go to the County Sheriff for collection of delinquent taxes, interest, and sheriff fees. Payments are payable to the County Treasurer.
If you paid the first half of your personal property taxes on time, the second half of the personal property taxes are due on or before May 10. If these taxes are not paid by May 10, interest will begin to accrue.
Delinquent personal property tax notices are mailed on or before June 10. If they are not paid, tax warrants are issued 14 days after notices are mailed. All delinquent personal property tax must be paid at the County Treasurer's office. Kansas State Law (KSA79-2017) requires delinquent personal property to be advertised in October. Also a judgment lien is filed in Crawford County District Court. If you have any previous years unpaid personal property tax, they must be paid at the County Treasurer's office.
Q: What is the interest charged on delinquent taxes?
A: At the current time, it is 7% annually. This is subject to change without notice.
Q: Can I make partial payments on my taxes?
A: No. Depending on the time of year, you can only make half or full payment.
Q: Where can I mail my tax payment?
A: The Crawford County Treasurer, PO Box 96, Girard, KS 66743.
Q: Why do I have to pay the user fee?
A: Unlike a retail business, whose credit card fees are hidden in the cost of the merchandise, the County Treasurer's office uses State Payments as a service to the individual taxpayer. The fee is remitted to the State Payments.com.
Q: Can I pay my taxes by credit card over the phone?